About the Southeastern Wisconsin District

The Southeastern Wisconsin District is one of twelve districts of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS).

The Southeastern Wisconsin District includes all the WELS congregations in...

  • Southeastern Wisconsin
    • Milwaukee, Racine, Kenosha, Ozaukee, and Washington Counties
    • Eastern Dodge, Eastern Waukesha, and Eastern Walworth Counties
  • Northeastern Illinois
    • Cook, Lake, McHenry, Kane, DuPage, Will, and Kankakee Counties
  • Indiana (except for two near the Michigan border)
  • Kentucky (except for one near the Ohio border)
The district was one of the first six formed when the Wisconsin, Michigan, Minnesota, and Nebraska Synods merged into the Evangelical Joint Synod of Wisconsin and other states back in 1917.  

District conventions are held in June of the even numbered years.  All the male pastors, teachers, and staff ministers and one lay representative from each congregation of the district serve as delegates to these conventions.  After an opening communion service, delegates hear a keynote presentation, receive reports from synod administrators and missionaries, draft resolutions that provide input to those administrators about their work, and conduct elections for the district officers as well as the leaders and members of various district boards, commissions, and committees.

The male called workers also meet at the District Conference in June of the odd-numbered years.  These conferences all feature an opening communion service, a keynote presentation, and reports from synod administrators and missionaries.

The main purposes of this website are to
  • distribute the information that convention and conference delegates will need for each meeting
  • publish the reports received by and the resolutions adopted by each meeting